It’s been a while since I’ve last written a blog post. Frankly, I haven’t quite found the time to but I know that time should never be an excuse – time management is a skill I’m working on, don’t worry.

Okay so a bunch of things have been happening in my life lately. The camp we’ve been waiting for and preparing for at ACTS Teens all summer has come and gone, the summer we’ve been looking forward to since the beginning of last year has come and gone, the first day of Uni has come and gone. It seems to be the right time to reflect a bit on summer as Autumn begins to draw near (even though it’s unfortunately still warm outside!)

I think that the featured photo just describes my summer so well. Footsteps – God’s. This is the summer I’ve offered up to God the most and He has shown me just how unfailing He is. This summer was the summer in which I committed to following His footsteps in all I did (not that I didn’t before but this summer more so) and on this ongoing journey He has simply and gently revealed more of Himself to me in scripture, people around me and thoughts.

#storytimewithsarah

At the beginning of June I gave up trying to look for a summer job, partly because I didn’t think I could work behind the scenes of ACTS Teens at the offices at the same time and partly because I gave in my CV to about 6 places and got no reply from any of the work places I sent my application to. On a particular day at the beginning of June I met a woman at a bus stop by my house and we started a conversation. Since she was on the way to work, we spoke about my life as a student and I told her that I was working voluntarily till now at ACTS Malta, three times a week. She suggested that she gets me a job at the place she works at – St John’s Co-Cathedral and I was open to any extra cash at that point so I agreed. Thanks to her, I got a job at the Cathedral and could continue doing the voluntary work at the same time. Pretty cool. Thanks, God, I see what you did there! 😉 What do footsteps have to do with this story? Well, I was following God and seeking to do His work to get teenagers to know Him more and He just surprised me with a job that I was trying to look for myself in apparently the wrong places.

And that’s how we look at life sometimes isn’t it? We try to take control of situations when in actual fact, if we just let God into them, they can be solved in much easier ways and definitely for the good of our future and ultimately for our good. (Romans 8:28) Life doesn’t always go the way we want it to and that’s okay because we can be sure that we have an all-knowing God who knows what’s best for us even if we don’t understand it at the time.

This is one way God showed me that we should give everything to Him this Summer. Now that Uni is coming up, I cannot wait to see what adventures there are in store with God leading the way and showing me what’s next, me following His footsteps and at the same time, getting to know God’s heart more and how to grow in Him while serving others.

“Make me know Your ways, O LORD; Teach me Your paths. Lead me in Your truth and teach me, For You are the God of my salvation; For You I wait all the day.” Psalm 25:4-5

Stay rad and God bless you!

Sarah

 

