Where Do You See Yourself In 5 years?

If you’re nervous for the future, this is for you….

Maybe you’re a young person, maybe you’re an adult, maybe you’re a parent. Whatever stage of life you’re in, you probably wonder what you’ll be doing in the future from time to time.
What I’m about to say is simply my experience so you may not relate but hear me out.

I’m not the kind of person who worries about the future. Those who know me would probably describe me as a chill person who takes life day by day. Whenever someone asks me about future long-term plans, I never know what to say. I always respond with, “I wish to be doing something I enjoy – whatever God thinks is best for me is what I want.” There’s nothing wrong with wanting to be open to God’s will for our life – actually, it’s what we should aim to be open to. However, I came to realise that even though I keep saying that to people,  I actually am afraid for the future. I am afraid that what God has planned for me is not what I want. Even if I keep saying that I want what He wants and I genuinely really want that, I still have a little voice in my head that tells me, “Well, what if He wants something that you don’t?”

The truth is that God leaves us free to choose whatever we want to do in life and His calling for us all is to love others with all our might and do everything for His glory. He will never force us to do something we don’t want to do. I keep reassuring myself that God knows me inside out and back to front and whatever I choose to do in life will get me to Him. He knows that I have a longing to be after His own heart so even if I am imperfect in my walk with Him, He still sees the struggle and cherishes that.

Any opportunity that comes our way for the future will be turned to our good if we love Him and choose to use it to glorify His name. If it is clear that it does not do anything good for His Kingdom, perhaps that is when we must rethink the decision we had taken. Even though I’m writing this to you, I feel like I still need to keep my thoughts in check with this truth because lies tend to creep in so swiftly and so quickly.

I’m just here to tell you that “worrying is like a rocking chair. It gives you something to do but it doesn’t get you anywhere!” (Quote by Van Wilder) There’s a difference between planning for the near future and being anxious for what’s very far ahead. Don’t forget that living in the present is what matters at the moment and thinking too much about what we cannot control will only distract us from sharing God’s love and truth with others, – the truth that He wants to shower us with blessings, all we need to do is be open and present for them!

If you’re looking for courage from the Bible, look up Psalm 139. I was reminded of this Psalm during a walk to different chapels organised by MKSU, called Walk 139 which is where this photo was taken and why I am holding song lyrics in my hand. This Psalm is about God’s complete knowledge and care and will give you consolation in times of trouble. 

Stay rad and God bless you!
Sarah 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

